Venturing into quinoa and the importance of reading the comments section

I tried quinoa for the first time. I like to be all hoity toity with my husband and pretend I always knew how to pronounce quinoa (or kwinoa, if you’re my husband).  Truth be told, I had to hear how they said it on Food Network (Chopped, to be specific) before I had any clue. Quinoa seems to have recently garnered a great deal of attention, I guess because it’s gluten free – and celiac is THE hot disease of the year. 

At any rate, I used this recipe for tomato, basil, and black bean quinoa salad. It was quite tasty and was an excellent complement to the Colombian dark beer marinated flank steak and guacamole.  I can see quinoa becoming a staple carb for us.

On to this recipe for inside out cordon bleu. The flavors were quite tasty. It’s essentially chicken coated in a fig jam/thyme marinade (or fig butter, as in my case), covered with cheese, and then wrapped in black forest ham. I was excited to try it, as cordon bleu is a delicious dish.

Enter the chaos. The recipe recommended coating the chicken with the marinade, mounding the cheese on top, wrapping in ham, THEN using a mallet to beat it to the appropriate thickness.

I’m not exaggerating when I say that I had to clean fig butter and raw chicken off the walls after all was said and done. As well as scrape raw chicken coated, fig jam marinated mozzarella off the floor. 

It was only after nearly having a total and complete, PMS/illness induced (I have a cold) screaming meltdown in the kitchen (seriously, I was thisclose) that I bothered to review the 28 comments on the recipe – all of which stated that the recipe was good for flavors, but the instructions were an utter disaster.

Lesson learned. Thankfully, helpful commenters had recommendations on how to improve the dish preparation in the future (including using the mallet PRIOR to building the tower of cheese and ham). So, I will try this recipe again – but with a different approach.

Another great thing to come out of the recipe was a fantastic homemade dressing. Since the whole food revolution (or as close as we get) – I’ve been making many of my own dressings. This one was white balsalmic vinegar, Dijon mustard, shallots, olive oil, thyme, salt, pepper, and fig jam. It was absolutely delicious drizzled over romaine, roasted pecans, parmesan cheese, and apple slices. Definite winner! It almost made the near meltdown worth it. Almost. 

One thought on “Venturing into quinoa and the importance of reading the comments section

  1. They should use this in schools as a new/more advanced version of the worksheet in 3rd grade or whenever it was, where you follow a series of instructions only to find that the last step tells you to ignore the previous steps.

Leave a Reply

